OTHM Level 3 60 credits Ofqual 610/6122/0 No UCAS Tariff points

Level 3 Diploma in Adult Health and Social Care

OTHM Level 3 Diploma in Adult Health and Social Care, awarded by OTHM and listed on the Ofqual register. The facts and unit list are below; the fuller account of what studying it with London School of Planning and Management involves is still being written.

The Level 3 Diploma in Adult Health and Social Care does not carry UCAS Tariff points.

Its 60 credits add nothing to a points total and will not satisfy a university offer expressed in points. What it does lead to is a Level 4 diploma delivered by London School of Planning and Management (LSPM), or first-year university entry where a university chooses to allow it. If you need Tariff points, this diploma is the wrong programme for you.

At a glance

  • Level3 (RQF)
  • Credits60
  • Total qualification time600 hours
  • Guided learning hours300 hours
  • Awarding bodyOTHM
  • Ofqual number610/6122/0
  • Units3 mandatory, 7 optional
  • UCAS TariffNone
  • Duration9 months (standard) or 6 months (fast track)
  • Study modesOnline, Blended, Evening classes
  • FeesFrom £999 (9 months, standard) or £1,299 (6 months, fast track)
  • Next intakeRolling intake — course starts when the fee is paid

Level, credits, hours, Ofqual number and unit list are taken from the OTHM qualification specification (PDF) and the Ofqual register. Duration, study modes, fees and intake dates are set by LSPM, not by this site, and are confirmed by its admissions team.

What you study

three mandatory units. Optional Units - Select 3 Units.

Units of the OTHM Level 3 Diploma in Adult Health and Social Care
#UnitTypeCredits
1Responsibilities of a Health and Social Care WorkerMandatorySee spec.
2Person-centered Approaches in Health and Social Care SettingsMandatorySee spec.
3Effective Communication and Ethical Practice in Health and Social CareMandatorySee spec.
4Health PromotionOptionalSee spec.
5Diabetes AwarenessOptionalSee spec.
6Stroke Awareness and ManagementOptionalSee spec.
7Dementia AwarenessOptionalSee spec.
8Mental Health AwarenessOptionalSee spec.
9Physical Disability AwarenessOptionalSee spec.
10Effective Handling of Information in Health and Social Care SettingsOptionalSee spec.
Total10 units60

Unit titles and credit values from the OTHM qualification specification (PDF). Where the specification does not state a credit value for a unit, the cell reads See spec.

Entry requirements

OTHM sets the formal entry criteria for this qualification and LSPM, as the approved centre, applies them when it admits learners. As published by the awarding body:

  • OTHM Level 3 qualifications can be offered to learners from age 16. OTHM does not specify entry requirements for these qualifications. OTHM ensures that learners admitted to the programme have sufficient capability at the right level to undertake the learning and assessment criteria.
  • OTHM Centre must ensure learners are recruited with integrity onto appropriate qualifications that will meet their needs, enable and facilitate learning and achievement enable progression.
  • English requirements: If a learner is not from a majority English-speaking country, they must provide evidence of English language competency. For more information visit the English Language Expectations page on the OTHM website.

Source: the OTHM qualification specification (PDF), which is the definitive statement of the awarding body's criteria. LSPM's admissions team decides eligibility; ask us first if you are unsure whether you meet them.

How you are assessed

Units are assessed by written assignment set by LSPM against the awarding body's learning outcomes. LSPM's tutors mark the work and moderate it internally, and OTHM samples it externally before results are confirmed. The specification sets no timed examinations.

Assessment is regulated by OTHM under Ofqual's conditions. How awarding bodies and regulation work.

Where it leads

Completing the Level 3 Diploma in Adult Health and Social Care qualifies you to progress to a Level 4 diploma delivered by LSPM, in health and social care or a related subject. It carries no UCAS Tariff points. Any university that considers a holder for first-year entry does so at its own discretion, and we name none.

Also in Health and Social Care

  • Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care

    Qualifi58 credits32 units
    View
  • Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care

    Qualifi60 credits7 units
    View
  • Level 3 Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care

    Qualifi180 credits18 units
    View

Not sure which route fits? Ask someone who will tell you straight.

We are an independent agent, not LSPM's sales team, and we will say whether a UCAS application, an Access course or a Level 3 diploma is the better option for you, even when the answer earns this site nothing. Replies within two working days.

Level 3 Diploma in Adult Health and Social CareOTHM · 60 credits · No Tariff points
Enquire